the bedrock project

The Band from the Sand

Month: April 2015






There are two ways to buy Bedrock’s music:

1.  Digital downloads (see below)

2.  Send an email to to acquire a physical copy of the album you wish to purchase via post or courier.  CD’s cost R100.00 (or local equivalent) plus packaging and postage.  Payments outside South Africa by PayPal. PAYMENT ON RECEIPT OF MERCHANDISE.

BEDROCK’s entire catalogue is available via numerous online vendors including:

  • Apple iTunes
  • Spotify
  • Amazon
  • CD Baby
  • The band’s Facebook Music Store

If, however, you’d like to order a physical copy of any of the band’s recordings you may do so by placing your order via email to

RS - Sand Circle front cover

The band’s 2014 release containing 14 original tracks:

  • She Said She Was (From Namibia)
  • Summer Song
  • Man In The Corner
  • Sand Circle
  • Everybody (Wants To Be In The Band Tonight)
  • Alone Again
  • Lazy Susie
  • Time
  • He’s A Winner
  • Whispers & Rumours
  • I Wanna Go
  • You & Me
  • Waiting For Eddie
  • Billy Badger (The Tweet Song)

RS - Desert Rock cover

The band’s 2011 release contains the following 14 tracks:

  • Band Song
  • On Her Own
  • Who You Are
  • Burnt
  • Reasons
  • Deliver Your Thoughts
  • You Can
  • Dust Town
  • S-Q-Weeze
  • Life is Kinda Funny
  • Feelin’s Gone
  • By The Way
  • Mello ‘n’ Wild
  • End Song

Bedrock Simplicity Cover 2008

The band’s 2008 release contains the following tracks:

  • Wheel O’ Hearts
  • You Don’t Know
  • My Girlfriend
  • Tell Your Ma
  • Fabulous
  • She’s A Lady
  • Moon ‘n Dunes
  • Tramp’s Song
  • I Wanna
  • Flower Girl
  • Slow Learner
  • Miggie In My Whiskey
  • The Alchemist
  • Last Song


The album’s 2003 release contains the following 16 tracks:

  • So, Where’s The Party?
  • Rock ‘n Roll Man II
  • Nobody There
  • Nothing Worries Me
  • Mobile Party
  • What Crap Is That?
  • Angels
  • Yeah, Yeah
  • Cliche
  • Rickshaw Baby Blues
  • This Place
  • Crowd Invasion
  • The Air Guitar Song
  • Going Home
  • Last Round
  • So, Where’s The Party? (Refrain)


The band’s 2001 release contains the following 14 tracks:

  • Rock ‘n Roll Man
  • Take A Look
  • The Loser
  • Cold T
  • Shadows In Your Eyes
  • Saturday Night
  • Bronto Saw Us
  • Ode To DStv
  • Vision
  • Freedom
  • I Don’t Care
  • I Wanna Be
  • Man Who Needs A Woman
  • Babbelas Blues




BEDROCK 20th Anniversary caps – R80.00 each (plus packaging & postage).


Welcome to the BEDROCK PROJECT

RS - Sand Circle front cover

The band’s 2014 album available from iTunes, Amazon, CD Baby and other leading digital distributors. The album features tracks such as “Man In The Corner”, “He’s A Winner”, “She Said She Was (From Namibia) “Everybody Wants To Be In The Band Tonight” and, of course, “Sand Circle”.

It seems hard to believe that it is well over 20 years since our original foursome stood around the bar, at a unique pub in the Namib desert called the ‘Place Of Happiness’, wondering what name to give our newly formed rock band.  Various ideas had been tossed around, some pretty conventional, others very “off the wall”!  Eventually, Pete Krog came up with the idea of the Bedrock Blues Band.  The first word did well for us but the middle word didn’t quite fit.  You see, we didn’t play any blues at that time so, to put ourselves out there as a blues band, would have been a little quirky.  That discussion didn’t take long (Pete was easy to railroad!) and so we became, simply, BEDROCK (The Band In The Sand).

BEDROCK (The Band In The Sand) was formed in 1994 out of a guitar playing duo known as ‘Double P’ which comprised two of the band’s founding members, Pete Krog on lead and vocals and Pete Shout on bass and vocals.  All this took place in the remote Namibian desert hamlet of Oranjemund.  Over the following 20 years BEDROCK exceeded their own expectations, recording 6 albums (of which the latter 5 comprised only original material written by the band’s members), winning Rock Band contests, appearing alongside a number of leading Namibian and South African artists at various festivals and events, featuring on television documentaries and programmes and, by being early adopters of advancing technologies in the music field, enjoying regular commercial radio airplay and reaching audiences which, in days gone by, would have been out of their reach.  Throughout the 20 years, and despite numerous personnel changes, the band was anchored by two of the original founding quartet in the shape of Eddie Heusdens (drums and percussion) and Pete Shout (vocals, lead guitar, bass and keyboards).

Having celebrated their 20th Anniversary during the course of 2014, the final line-up of the Oranjemund-based BEDROCK dissolved at the beginning of 2015 when Pete Shout left the desert wastes for the greener mountains of Cape Town.  The BEDROCK name, however, has travelled with Pete to the Cape and has morphed into the BEDROCK PROJECT.  The change of name demarcates the subtle transition of BEDROCK from ‘The Band IN The Sand’ to ‘The Band FROM The Sand’.  The BEDROCK PROJECT is a collaborative concept which will continue to build on the band’s legacy with past members of the band will be involved in the Project’s activities.

Whilst largely a studio-based project at this stage, it is envisaged that the band will make occasional public appearances to keep the band’s live gigging spirit going.  Watch this space for news on these exciting developments in the months ahead.

For the full BEDROCK STORY please follow the HISTORY tab on this site…it is a pretty special story,


The Best Of BEDROCK!

© 2023 the bedrock project

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑